Miles Davis with Quincy Jones Live at Montreux 1991 Set For Release On DVD, Blu-Ray and Digital

MilesDavisMontreux1991DVDsleevehr On March 19 Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Miles Davis with Quincy Jones and the Gil Evans Orchestra Live at Montreux 1991. The show was Davis’ last Montreux appearance, taking place just months before his death.

A tribute to arranger Gil Evans, who had died three years earlier, the performance featured Davis, Kenny Garrett (saxophone) and Wallace Rooney (trumpet, flugelhorn). Quincy Jones conducted the Gil Evans Orchestra and the George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band with the addition of Benny Bailey (trumpet, flugelhorn), Carles Benavent (bass) and Grady Tate (drums).

Extras include interviews with Claude Nobs, Monty Alexander, Helen Merrill, Betty carter, Charlie Haden, Gil Goldstein, Stanley Clarke, Jean Luc Ponty, Al Di Meola & Michel Petrucciani.


1) Introduction
2) Boplicity
3) Maids Of Cadiz
4) The Duke
5) My Ship
6) Miles Ahead
7) Blues For Pablo
8) Orgone
9) Gone, Gone, Gone
10) Summertime
11) Here Come De Honey Man
12) The Pan Piper
13) Solea

Link: JazzTimes


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s