Detroit Symphony Orchestra Presents A Tribute To Miles Davis

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra will present four colleagues of jazz legend Miles Davis at Orchestra Hall on Fri., Feb. 4 at 8 p.m. in their tribute to his musical legacy with Four Generations of Miles.

Each member of this quartet of jazz heavyweights, which includes Sonny Fortune (saxophone), Wallace Roney (trumpet), Jimmy Cobb (drums) and Buster Williams (bass) has collaborated with Davis during radically different phases of his 45-year performing career. Joining this quartet of Davis contemporaries will be Larry Willis (piano), an internationally-renown jazz musician with a career spanning four decades.

Tickets for Four Generations Of Miles range in price from $19 to $63, with a limited number of box seats available for $99, and may be purchased at the DSO Box Office (3711 Woodward Ave., Detroit), by calling the DSO at (313) 576-5111 or by visiting

Four Generations of Miles

Sonny Fortune, saxophone
Wallace Roney, trumpet
Jimmy Cobb, drums
Buster Williams, bass
Larry Willis, piano

Orchestra Hall
Feb. 4, 2011 at 8 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s