Miles Davis: A Friend Remembers

99 Photographer Anthony Barboza shares his memories of working with Miles Davis. Barboza met Miles Davis in 1971. The men would cross paths, both professionally and personally, in the years ahead, eventually becoming close friends.

One of many, many great quotes from Barboza about Miles:

“The next time I saw Miles was when I was walking with some models on the upper west side to Riverside Park to do a fashion shoot. As we walked down the street, Miles was standing outside by his gate. I went over to him and said, ‘Hey, Miles, I’m doing a shoot for an Essence spread.’ He said, ‘Don’t worry about the shoot, you can do it later, just invite the women in and we’ll have a party.’ I said, ‘Miles, I can’t do that, these women are getting paid by the hour.’ I had to leave him at the gate of his brownstone and go do the shoot…”

Leave a Reply

