Media

In Which Miles Davis Acts In A Movie

dingo I wish I could say I knew Miles Davis was in a movie called Dingo. But no – no clue. Until I happened upon a clip via YouTube.

At first I thought the movie might be about Miles Davis battling actual dingos (wild dog), which would have been a big surprise, though no less compelling. But it seems Miles Davis plays – wait for it – a jazz trumpeter named Billy Cross in Dingo, the 1991 Australian film (directed by Rolf de Heer) about the adventures of John Anderson (played by Colin Friels), who is an average guy with a passion for jazz, who travels from his home in outback Western Australia to the jazz clubs of Paris, to meet his idol – a Mr. Billy Cross.

Now I have not seen this film, so I don’t want to pass judgment on whether or not it’s any good. There’s a soundtrack available (composed by Michel Legrand and performed by Miles Davis and Chuck Findley), which I’m not too familiar with, but after reading some reviews and hearing a few clips I’ll say it’s not that bad.

I’ve actually seen the album cover numerous times but never thought it was for a movie – that co-starred Miles Davis! There are a few comments on IMDB about the film and all positive.

So that happened. I found Miles Davis acting in an Australian movie that’s like Crocodile Dundee but with jazz.

Leave a Reply

