babble / biopic / don cheadle

The Miles Davis Movie: Quiet times in newsville

I was just about to embark on a rant about the troubling lack of any Miles Davis biopic news and lament the fact that I might have commenced my account of all things ‘Miles Davis movie’ about three or four months too soon.

Then I stumbled onto a BET interview with Don Cheadle from last month.

Alas, a sliver of news.

He’s [Cheadle] busy developing his Miles Davis project, which is his No. 1 priority at the moment. Cheadle will not only star in the film, but direct it, too.

“It’s insane, it’s an insane thing that I’m attempting to do but I’m going to do it,” he said. “I hope I don’t die of exhaustion in the process.”

Miles is a passion project for Cheadle, a gifted musician in his own right.

“Yeah, I was a big fan of him,” he said. “I grew up playing jazz my whole life, and it’s something that his music has been very close to my heart and a big part of my family life and everything. And I’m obviously learning more and more about him every day as I pore through everything that’s ever been written about him. But like I say, that’s a while away, but I’m trying to take my time and work on that. And hopefully when it’s ready to come out of the oven, it will.”

From the above quote I glean two things: A) Cheadle is presently working on the Miles Davis movie, which is nice and B) it’s going to be a lot longer until we see this movie in theatres.

And that’s okay. At least we know the movie is a go, and it’s happening. But obviously this thing is not ready to go in front of the cameras anytime soon. That part is a bummer, but if they’re working on something special I guess it is best not to rush it.

And the band played on….

One thought on “The Miles Davis Movie: Quiet times in newsville

  1. To create a variation on a theme, some news is good news.

    We need not fret, because at least we know Cheadle’s still planning on it and is excited to take on this project.

    It looks like he’s got other projects going from looking at his imdb.com profile, so who knows when it’ll happen. But we have it straight from him that it’s still a passion project for him.

Leave a Reply

