babble / biopic / news

The Miles Davis Movie: Is Puff Daddy working on a Miles Davis project?

I’m not sure if this is a colossal joke, but I stumbled upon a Blog (The Obenson Report) with a link to a video interview with Puff Daddy discussing his acting ambitions and other miscellaneous Puff Daddy news.

In the video clip Puffy states that he’s always wanted to play Miles Davis AND that a script is being written for the project. He then claims the project would be an atypical portrayal of the legendary jazz man.

Great. ‘Atypical.’

Here’s the LINK to the video clip (it’s at the end…). Here is the transcript.

Before I completely fell over I did think it over: Anyone can write a script (good or bad) and Puffy can hire any writer he wants to crank out whatever project interests him. So it’s not like he’s hooked up with Paramount to produce a Miles Davis movie. It’s clearly in the development stage, as Puffy mentions in the clip. Hollywood folks know that some projects never ever leave the development file – and that’s okay sometimes.

At first I thought he might be joking, but he looks pretty serious to me. He’s obviously ready to make his move into Hollywood, and it’s a smart sound bite when discussing your actorly ambitions to throw out a kooky idea about playing Miles Davis in some avant-garde project.

Is he exploring the possibility? Perhaps yes… according to the interview. Does he know about the Don Cheadle Miles Davis movie in the works? Perhaps no… and it doesn’t matter, I guess, if he did.

Of course there’s the whole (big) issue of music rights, the Miles Davis estate and what ‘story’ he would plan to follow, but I have a feeling it’s only in the exploratory phase.

If he really wanted to make a movie about Miles Davis, I imagine he could as long as he got all his Miles Davis ducks in a row.

And when he mentions taking an ‘atypical’ approach what jumps to mind first is Todd Haynes’ “I’m Not There” – definitely an atypical look at the life of Bob Dylan.

I’m not saying it’s a bad movie (I enjoyed it mostly), but not my cup o’ tea.

I scanned the ‘Net for other related news items and came up zilch, so clearly this is not some fast-track deal with cameras set to roll. There’s obviously no buzz about a possible movie, so no need to worry in the short term.

But he’s thinking about it, and it’s in development, because he’s always had ‘a dream to play Miles Davis.’

I get it. I’d like to play Miles Davis, too!

A straight ahead biopic of Miles Davis with Puff Daddy doesn’t exactly gel, and I think he knows this, which is why you have to focus on the ‘atypical’ comment in the interview.

I’ll be honest in stating that I’ve probably taken a level 1 crisis and pushed it to level 7, but this ‘news’ is troubling to me. I’m not a fan of Diddy (not professionally at least) and ambivalent about pretty much anything he does in showbiz, clothes and whatever.

But portraying Miles Davis in a film elevates my ambivalence to deep concern.

Hey, who am I to say it won’t be entertaining? But my instinct says it’s not a good idea. I don’t see it. It doesn’t feel good to me.

But he has the right to do what he wants. He sampled a classic Police song for his rap tribute to Biggie, and I hated that he did that – but he did it, and I eventually dealt with it. (Sorry for the quick rant)

I’ll say right now it’s 80/20 against this ever gets past the development phase, so I won’t lose any sleep. But never say never. We shall see….

(I cannot believe I typed the words ‘Puff’ and ‘Daddy’ so many times, as one, in the preceding post.)

Leave a Reply

