biopic / news

The Miles Davis Movie: And The Film Title Is… “Kill The Trumpet Player”

A news round-up of TV deals on Deadline.com alerted me to the fact that the upcoming Miles Davis Biopic will be titled Kill The Trumpet Player.

[Steven] Baigelman, repped by UTA and Management 360, is developing the Miles Davis feature biopic Kill The Trumpet Player for Don Cheadle to star.

Also, film producer Michael Cerenzie (Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead, Deuces Wild) is now part of the movie project.

Antoine Fuqua was recently – without much fanfare – named the director of the long-in-development movie project about Miles Davis.

Cheadle had originally planned to handle both directing duties and playing the leading role in his non-linear biopic about the jazz legend. No specific reasons have been giving as to why Cheadle made the change, but no doubt the addition of Fuqua can be considered a positive one.

Thoughts on the film title?

Cheadle did say in an interview, jokingly or not, that the project is, “not a biopic, per se. It’s a gangster pic.”

Kill The Trumpet Player does fit the bill, I guess, if he is really going for that type of narrative.

3 thoughts on “The Miles Davis Movie: And The Film Title Is… “Kill The Trumpet Player”

  1. Miles was often sparse, intense, lyrical. Jabbing, often vicious, even witty and cutting at times. Jokey doesn’t come to mind. I don’t put much into titles, except as marketing. But I hope that the title of the film and the film itself have different tones.

    BTW, now that I’m on a rant, I’ve always been skeptical of the “cubist” thing because Miles’ art was never cubist or deconstructed (i.e.,clever manipulations of perspective). Instead, his music is either baroque (the bebop era), minimalist (modal era) or dense (fusion). I feel cubist a little when I hear early electric.

    Anyway, I want to be pleasantly surprised. I don’t want to criticize a film I haven’t seen and I hope the cubist thing turns out to be as revolutionary as Mile’s art was. Yet, I remain nervous.

    PS. Every time I see Cheadle in some other role in a pop action film, I feel like saying, “Sir! Don’t do this dreck! Do what Miles did and burn this muther* down! You are better then this!”

Leave a Reply

